Category: Complete List of Dairy Products

Dairy-free Margarine and a complete list of dairy products

Learning what items do and don’t contain dairy did not come easy for me. As rashes came and went, I slowly discovered what is and is not a dairy product. I remember going to the health food store to buy the slimy Tofutti Cheese slices and Soy Dream Ice Cream (which contained “whey,” by the way). As I was checking out, the attendant said, “You know, we also carry dairy-free margarine if you’re interested.” What!?! Margarine has milk? I purchased the soy margarine and then went home to do more research. I found out that in addition to non-fat milk, butter, lactose, and the regular cheeses, the following ingredients also contain dairy products: (Brace yourself!)

Dairy Ingredients and Hidden Dairy Products:

Artificial butter flavor, Butter, Butter fat, Buttermilk, Butter oil, Casein, Caseinates (ammonia, calcium, magnesium, potassium, sodium, Cheese, Cottage cheese, Cream, Curds, Custard, Ghee, Goat’s milk, Half & half, Hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, why protein), Kefir, Koumiss, Lactalbumin, Lactalbumin phosphate, Lactoglobulin, Lactose, Lactulose, Milk (condensed, derivative, powder, dry, evaporated, low fat, malted, non fat, protein, skim, solids, whole), Milkfat, Nougat, Paneer, Pudding, Rennet casein, Sour Cream, Sour cream solids, Sour milk solids, Whey (in any form including delactosed, demineralized, protein concentrate, sweet), Yogurt

Ingredients that MAY contain milk protein:

Chocolate, Flavorings (natural or artificial), High protein flour, Hot Dogs, Luncheon Meat, Margarine, Simplesse, Sausage, Starter Distillate.
Avoid “deli” meats, because the slicers frequently are used to cut both meat and cheese products. Also, some deli meats contain dairy products.
Kosher labeling: A product label marked Parve or Pareve is certified dairy-free. A product with a circled “U” on the label (with NO other symbols or letters) is Parve. A “D” or “DE” on a product label next to a circled “K” or circled “U” may indicate the presence of milk protein.
(ingredient information taken from www.kellymom.com)

To my amazement, all of my margarine at home contained “whey.” No wonder my son’s eczema rash was still so prevalent that he scratched it until it bled! Why didn’t anyone ever tell me? So, the Health Food Store became our new best friend, and I’m sure that we kept it in business for quite sometime. The soy margarine smelled like burnt popcorn, and the flavor was only so so. We purchased two separate margarines because of the taste until we discovered Earth Balance Margarine. We are now all convereted and not only do we enjoy a yummy buttery taste as a family, we also get to live without any Trans Fat! It bakes just like butter and is so yummy! With the exception of my pocket book, this was a happy day when I discovered it.

Here is a link to understanding a little bit more about Kosher labeling:
http://kosherfood.about.com/od/guidetokosherfoodlabels/ss/symbols_7.htm
www.milkallergycompanion.com

Dairy-free chocolate chips option!

We went to Costco and found bulk chocolate chips there.  They are Kirkland’s brand and contain NO dairy!!!  That said, they were manufactured on equipment that may contain dairy products.  We have had no adverse reactions with them and are so happy to have found a more economical way to make dairy-free chocolate chip cookies.  We have also found some dairy-free ones at Save Mart out west that have no cross-contamination.

www.milkallergycompanion.com

Dairy Allergy Signs, Symptoms, and ingredient listings

Dairy allergy, or milk allergy, refers to any allergic reaction
caused by a component of cow’s milk. The three
components of cow’s milk that cause dietary reactions are
casein protein, whey protein, and lactose sugar. Casein and
whey are considered more likely to cause true allergies,
while lactose causes a well-known intolerance in many
adults (and some children) due to the body’s lack of an
enzyme known as lactase.

CROSS-REACTIONS
Similar components to cow’s milk are found in the milk of other
ruminants, including goats and sheep, so any patient with a dairy
allergy who is considering using other animal milk as a substitute
for cow’s milk should talk to their allergist before proceeding.

DAIRY/MILK ALLERGY SYMPTOMS
Dairy allergies may appear with a wide variety of symptoms,
including hives (urticaria), eczema, chronic congestion, and
diarrhea. Lactose intolerance, like many other dietary intolerances,
causes gastrointestinal symptoms, such as bloating, cramping, and
diarrhea. As always, if you suspect you or your child has a food
allergy, contact your physician.

SPECIAL CONCERNS FOR INFANTS
Because dairy allergies are especially prevalent among babies,
parents with atopic families – that is, families with a history of
severe allergies – should discuss feeding options with their
pediatricians before delivery, if at all possible. There is some
evidence that nursing exclusively until six months and delaying the
introduction of solid foods until that time can help prevent the
development of allergies. Bottle-feeding families have a few
options for feeding infants who either have dairy allergies or are
considered to be at high-risk for developing them. The preferred
option, especially in families with a history of eczema, is formula
that is hydrolyzed, meaning that the proteins have been processed
to break them down. These formulas are often preferred to soy
because soy itself is a common allergen and hydrolyzed formula is
tolerated by more babies. Your doctor will help you select the
appropriate formula. Insurance can help defray the high costs.

FOODS/INGREDIENTS CONTAINING DAIRY:
“Butter, butter fat, butter oil, buttermilk, artificial butter flavor,
casein, caseinates (ammonium, calcium, magnesium, potassium,
sodium) cheese, cream, cottage cheese, curds, custard, Ghee, Half
& Half, hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, whey
protein), lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate, lactoglobulin,
lactose, lactulose, milk (derivative powder, protein, solids, malted,
condensed, evaporated, dry, whole, low-fat, milkfat, non-fat,
skimmed, and goat’s milk) , nougat, pudding, rennet casein, sour
cream, sour cream solids, whey (in all forms including sweet,
delactosed, protein concentrate), yogurt, malted milk. The
following may contain milk products – flavorings (natural and
artificial), luncheon meat, hot dogs, sausages, high protein flour,
margarine, Simplesse ®” http://www.mda.state.mn.us/food/
safety/allergingred.htm Cheese, butter, yogurt, cream, kefir, sour
cream, and ice cream, unless specifically formulated to be dairyfree,
always contain milk. Milk is also present in many types of
processed food. Processed foods that are likely to contain dairy
products include chocolate, salad dressings, pastries, snack foods
with butter or cheese flavorings (even if they’re artificial), soups,
and even canned tuna and deli meats. As with any food allergy,
never eat any processed food unless you have read the label, and
always be aware of cross-contamination risks from utensils or
surfaces where dairy products may have been prepared.

DAIRY AND LABELING LAWS
Dairy is one of the eight most common allergens in the United
States, and as such, current food labeling laws require that the
presence of milk be clearly marked on ingredient labels. However,
it’s best to learn the myriad names dairy products appear on in
labels. While FDA laws require that the presence of milk be
marked in plain English, it’s safest to rely on that in conjunction
with your own knowledge of dairy-containing ingredients.

PREVENTING LACTOSE INTOLERANCE
Lactose intolerance symptoms can be prevented, at least
temporarily, by replacing the lactase enzyme the body lacks. This is
done in one of two ways: through dietary supplements, which are
available over-the-counter, or by adding lactase directly to dairy
products. The latter is how lactose-free milk is made.

LIVING WITH DAIRY ALLERGIES
You’ll find substitutes for milk products in many supermarkets and
health-food stores. Always check these for the presence of dairy,
however; some may include traces of milk and thus be unsuitable
for someone with allergies. With that caveat, try the many milk
substitutes on the market for baking, drinking, and cooking. Soy
milk, rice milk, and nut milks are but a few of the varieties
available, and each has different properties. Rice milk is low in
protein (so it acts quite differently than cow’s milk in baking) but
has a mild taste; in its vanilla flavor it is delicious on cereal and
good for drinking plain. Soy milk and nut milks have a stronger
flavor and can work well in baked goods. Milk has a somewhat
outsized reputation as a nutritional powerhouse. However, with
planning, you can easily replace the nutrients in milk. Be especially
aware of calcium, protein, and vitamins A, D, E, and K, which are
found in abundance in dairy products.

Information taken from: http://foodallergies.about.com/od/
dairy/p/dairyallergies.htm

www.milkallergycompanion.com